Flashback 2019: Uddhav as Maharashtra CM, Soren in Jharkhand

After break-up with the BJP, Shiv Sena sewed up political alliance with Sharad Pawar-headed NCP and the Congress. With the support of the two alliance partners, Shiv Sena chief Udhdhav Thackeray was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra, on November 28. 

In the 288-member Assembly, the  BJP had won 105 and pre-poll partner Shiv Sena 56. However, demand from Shiv Sena for sharing of chief ministership for half of the term led to collapse of the alliance. 

Finally, new Shiv Sena,NCP and Congress  alliance was sworn in with Uddhav Thackeray as Chief Minister. His son, Aditya Thackeray later joined the state Cabinet while NCP leader Ajit Pawar as Deputy Chief Minister. 

In Jharkhand, JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) Working President Hemant Soren , was sworn in as Chief Minister on December 29,2019.  His JMM and alliance partners- Congress and RJD  won 47 of the 81 seats in Jharkhand Assembly. BJP lost power in the mineral -rich state where it had projected Raghubar Das for second term as Chief Minister. BJP won only 25 seats in the Assembly elections.        

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *